Kenya’s best journalists for 2017 to be announced by MCK next Friday

Media Council of Kenya logo

The Media Council of Kenya logo.


Kenyan journalists who applied for the Media Council of Kenya (MCK)’s annual excellence awards have been waiting with bated breath since May.

Ordinarily, winners are announced on May 3, during the World Press Freedom Day. Journalists applied in their thousands for the award this year, but May passed without so much of a word from MCK.

It was until mid-July that MCK disclosed that the award date had been changed from May 3 to August 3.

Speaking at a  function on July 14 at the Intercontinental Hotel that had been organised by the Kenya Editors’ Guild, MCK chairman David Omwoyo said the May function used to inconvenience them.

“We deliberately moved it to August because the World Press Freedom Day is a global event, and this year it was confirmed that too many times, we are unable to participate as a country because of commitments to the region and all that,” he said.

“August is a very special month for us in Kenya — new Constitution and other things — so we’ll now have the annual media summit and the Journalist of the Year Award,” he added.

This year’s winners will be disclosed at an event to be held at Radisson Blu on August 3. This will be the climax of a three-day function titled the Annual Media Summit, which will be held at different venues in Nairobi.














Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s